Welcome to Navodaya

The 1st branch of the National Council for Child & Youth Welfare was formed on 10th July 1966 Under the Able Leadership  of Late, Justice Walter Thalgodapitiya. Starting with 03 mentally retarded boys our institute was named as “Home for the mentally retarded boys. After rendering a valuable service for a period of 02 years, in 1968 the Administration of the Home was handed over to Dr. K. C. D. Perera who too did his utmost to raise the standard of services. In 1970 Mr. S. W. Pathinayake took over reigns as the President. His services counted for a period of 24 years. Proffessor S. B. Ellepola was elected as the President in 1994. He too served for a period of 05 years. Next to take over the Administration was Mr. Neil Ranawana. His services too counted for for a period of 07 years. In 2006 Mr. Chandra Rupage, a former Ambassador was elected as the President. He Countinued his services until his sudden demise in 2012. The Present President is Mrs. Ellen Chandra Rupage. She too continues the good work done by her predecessors.  

Slowly but steadily, through the years the number of children increased to over 40. This itself vouch for the very high standard of our services rendered towards these needy children.

On 11th of May 2005, the Board of Management Decided to recruit more qualified Teachers and also to re-name this institute as “NAVODAYA SPECIAL EDUCATION RESIDENTIAL SCHOOL FOR BOYS”. This School is situated at Lewella, approximately 03Km from the Kandy town, in close proximity to river “Mahaweli”. 

We, operate with the Prime Objective of rehabilitating mentally retarded boys between the ages of 05 – 18 years. At present, we have under our care 43 boys to whom we provide board & lodging, Meals, Educational facilities, Recreational facilities along with Music, Drama and Dancing.

Hide Buttons